Truth or Fact?

How many times has someone shared a truth with you, but you rejected the message because of the messenger or the presentation of the message? I used to be the master at rejecting messages from my mother. My mother was a wise women with a 9th grade education, many people rejected her messages because she always talked about Jesus. I can remember people saying, “She is so heavenly bound that she is no earthly good” or “She is fanatical”. I remember feeling like this towards my mother too at one point in my life.

I can even remember in 1985, when she first accepted Jesus as her Lord and Savior that I went to the church to SAVE her because I knew that whoever was at the church talking to her did not have the best intentions in mind for her. I still laugh at this because I went to the church, repented, and accepted Jesus as my Lord and Savior (this is another story). I was the rebellious 17 year old, and I gave my mother hell! If she said, “Go right”, I would go left. If she said, “The sky is blue”, for sure I would determine it to be purple. These days I long to recall messages, and other nuggets of her wisdom since her passing in 2019, but that is another story for another time.

My mother had a prayer closet and prayers all over the walls in 1985, I mean at first it was post-it-notes, then index cards, and before she left here she literally wrote on the wall in permanent marker prayers, scriptures, confirmations, and affirmations. This was long before the movie, “War Room” made prayer closets popular in its 2015 debut.

There are so many versions of truth but not every truth is a fact, nor is every fact truth. For the sake of this blog, facts are those things that cannot be proven not true. Lets look at the law of gravity for example, if you drop something, it doesn’t float up (unless you are in space where there is no gravity), but things fall down. Another fact, all humans need oxygen to breathe. If you don’t believe that to be a fact, stop breathing for 10 minutes, you can’t do it, you are hardwired to gasp for air after a few minutes. These are both undisputed facts whether we accept them as truth or not. Defying this facts could prove to be detrimental.

How many times have you heard something and denied its truth only to hear it again from someone else, and suddenly, the truth stood out to you? People closest to us often don’t accept truth from us, we saw this illustrated in the bible with Jesus. He wasn’t accepted in his hometown of Nazareth. It is difficult to look at the truth, rather than the person who is speaking. As we mature, accepting truth that aligns with fact, and with a spirit of discernment should become easier.

But that is not automatic.

One aspect of this evolution is seeking truth that is based on beyond what society approves as truth. My belief system is that God, Jehovah Jirah, my Heavenly Father is the supreme being. We could debate for decades about ethnicity, origin, lineage, etc of Jesus Christ but that doesn’t add to or take away from my truth, and my belief doesn’t support it as a fact for you. My point is that our truths are based on our values, and belief systems…these can become fact when time after time they have been proven to be truth. If my truths can help me become a better version of myself, and learn to be a more loving, compassionate human being, then my truth can become a fact for someone else.

My Mommy’s handwriting on the wall. Picture taken March 2023

Hello, World.

About Coachtbankston

CoachTBankston, CHANGE DOULA, helping women give birth to their dreams, goals, and visions, one push at a time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment